Blackburn with Darwen Sports Awards Winners


The Blackburn with Darwen Sports Council Awards Evening took place on Friday 5th May. Ewood Park played host to the annual ceremony for the first time in its 51-year history.

The event itself was a great success, with Cllr Hussain Akhtar, the Mayor of Blackburn with Darwen joined by Blackburn Rovers Community Trust trustees Cllr Maureen Bateson MBE and Phil Watson CBE to hand out the prizes to dozens of local grassroots sports stars. All the major prize winners now progress to the Lancashire Sports Awards in Blackpool later this year, with all of the Blackburn with Darwen nominees having their places sponsored by the Community Trust.

The winners are:

  • Coach of the Year               –   Dave Pilkington
  • Service to Underrepresented Groups     –  Abu Hanifah Foundation Football Club
  • Lifetime Achievement           –  Ken Hartley
  • Primary School of the Year   –   The Redeemer Primary School
  • Young Achiever of the Year   –  Eleesha Charnley